top of page

Getting Myself Out There


If you've made it this far then you are doing me proud. Honestly if you are reading this then you have more than likely read three other posts of babbles and now you are sitting here in the cold blue glow of your phone or computer waiting for something amazing. Something breathtaking that will shock you to your core.

I am still working on what that is and so sadly this post is not that showstopper. There isn't going to be a 'Hollywood Handshake' or a '10 from Len' or any other highly rated form of appreciation in the guise of a TV Judge - but that is ok.

This post is about getting myself out there - like that text you get from Dominos every Tuesday that makes you think "Oh I could go for pizza."

I am currently learning and researching mailing lists looking for the best way to produce one. This is all well and good making a kick ass blog but what's the point if no one is going to read it?

So the hunt for followers, subscribers and fans begins. A lot of places have suggested running 'giveaways' or 'opt-in incentives' which is cool and smart but not an angle I can use. I am not a business or a producer of a product. I can't start offering my clothes or belongings #SorryNotSorry.

Hey read my post and I will send you my socks that I wore the other day.

It's a cute idea but people will get bored very quickly and i'll run out of socks - neither are ideal situations to be in, so I am currently in the process of making something called 'The 100 Friends List' - a take on the mailing list idea and this theory is that each day I need to make 100 friends / followers / fans who could all be potential readers of the blog. Starting off simple I am trying to drum up interest with somewhat cryptic posts and pictures that suggest something is coming but not letting people know what. Using this I am hoping to peak peoples interest and curiosity to find out more.

I am currently putting a mailing list together which currently stands at a small handful but the process is far from being finished - if in fact it will ever finish. I am also trying to work out a way to add a subscription button / email address tab on the home page that will automatically generate a mailing list for me. That or I am just going to have to hope that word of mouth takes off.

So here is to communication, promotion and just getting myself out there. I guess we will know if this works or not by monitoring the traffic and support I get.

Can't wait. See you soon.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page