top of page

Day 6 - Here Comes Blogmas Claus

One of the best parts of Christmas has to be hands down (or should I say up) the music!

My Christmas playlist is a buzzing with joy and festive cheer and this post is going to explain and share my favourite gems and tunes.

Firstly let me start by saying six days into December and the tunes are more than allowed but I have a big problem with anything before December 1st. Just like people putting trees up in November, or the Christmas adverts coming out 6 weeks before the big day. December 1st is the day - the day it all begins and you can blare them tunes and put that tree up.

Ranty bit over, it's time to get into the tunes - to share the gems I love, from the classics to the more obscure and unusal ones. Here we go:

My all time favourite Christmas song is "Fairytale of New York", a jivey up beat Irish American song about the boys of the NYPD choir - what's not to love. It's a great sing-a-long song, especially after a couple of pints at the Christmas party. It's an all time classic.

Other classics that I highly rate and frankly love are; "Driving Home for Christmas" - it was a gem that always got blared out in my car on a frosty morning when, yes you guess it, I was driving home to my Dad's for Christmas. "Mary's Boy Child" by Boney M, "2000 Miles" by The Pretenders & "Last Christmas" by Wham! are a few more tunes that I love.

But I have to also mention my admiration for Band Aid's "Do they know it's Christmas Time" - firstly because it is a musical genius song with all those talents rolled into one. But also because of the Gavin and Stacey Christmas special where we see Smithy and Gavin singing it to each other through their phones. This became such an iconic, loveable moment that every year my friend Tom and I recreate it, usually the same time I am driving home for Christmas. If you don't know the scene (and come on how do you not) here is the link to it - Enjoy.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lcAUKOICPn4

Unusual hits that I like also include; "Underneath the Christmas Tree" by Kelly Clarkson, another upbeat jolly tune that instantly makes you want to jive and dance. "Never do a Tango with an Eskimo" by Alma Cogan and "Christmas Wrapping" by The Waitresses.

I think it's nice to add a few different gems into the mix, rather than just having a Heart style playlist of the same tunes or some list of Michael Buble covers. It's good to get a mix right.

Let me know your favourite Christmas song and what you'd hit up on karaoke after a few cheeky jars?

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page