top of page

Getting Ink Done!


He's getting a tattoo yeah, he's gettin ink done.

This is take two for this post - the first was an amazing, informative and insightful piece . . . but due to gremlins in the internet the post never saved and the app crashed.

Lets go.

Tattoos in today's society are known for being trendy and cool. But originally they carried several stigmas and connotations dating back to before Jesus Christ himself. They were used as signifiers to show what tribe or clan people belonged too as well as also being used to warn off illness and evil spirits. (which sounds awesome, got a cold, get a tattoo)

Flash forward to the 20th century and the basic principle hasn't changed, ink and art is still used to denote an affiliation to a certain group, while a stigma in society is created that the only people who have tattoos are Sailors or Criminals.

Then jump once more to today and it's almost expected to hear and see that everyone has a tattoo, where it would once be frowned upon and unheard of to know your doctor was sporting an eagle down their back or some symbol meaning love on their wrist, but in today's society this is more accepted. The idea of using it to show the tribe you are attached to has loosened up and isn't as important now days but it's still apparent and also the wayward superstition of warning off illness and spirits through tattoos has most certainly vanished and been lost in the history books but like I said it's an interesting concept.

In today's western society tattoos are seen more as a fashion accessory rather than a right of passage - allowing anyone to get almost anything they want, it doesn't change the persons nature it just shows another form of expression. I genuinely love hearing about what tattoos people have, the reasons as to why they got them, to see peoples artwork, the ideas and the different approaches people have gone for. There was a time when I thought; You need a purpose and a reason for a tattoo and also never get a spouses name - well the first rule has slacked a lot over the recent years and now days I think "Hey if you want a cactus, get one, you don't need a profound reason behind it". I am sticking to my guns on the second rule of names though. That just makes me a bit uneasy but then again each to their own.

Currently I have 4 tattoos: a Shamrock on my left forearm in memory of my Grandad, a mountain scape scene and lake on my right bicep in memory of my Nan, a vase with flowers as a part memory part just really liked it for my Nan again under that right arm and also a small arch way logo next to the vase with the words "Midnight" under it which is from the film 'Brick' - just because I like the symbol and love the film.

While next month I am booked in for another inking sess - I am getting a nautical map, pocket watch and arrow on my right pec, across the shoulder and to join in with the piece on my arm. I am excited for it, I love getting tattoos and my artist Amy is amazing, last time we literally spent all day watching films and chatting shit. Can't praise her enough.

I'll show you that piece once it's done.

Anyway let me know what you have, why you have it and what is next on the ink list. Send me photos and i'll do shout outs.

Ink you later homies!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page